Math at Pomfret: “Outstanding teachers; challenging courses”

by Harrison Chase ’13

13_Chase_HarrisonI came to Pomfret my junior year and started off in AP Calculus (AB) with Mr. Marshall Eaton. Right away the course challenged me in ways unlike my previous math classes, combining a fast-paced review of precalculus with a foray into the world of derivatives and integrals. After struggling initially I found a groove and stuck with the class throughout the year. I am glad I did, as the entirely theoretical problems that we solved early on progressed quickly into complex real-life scenarios, giving me valuable knowledge that I believe I will be able to use later on in life.

The next year I doubled up in math. I took AP Calculus 2, which besides preparing us for the AP Calculus (BC) exam also introduces us to the increasingly complex yet practical notion of multivariable calculus. I also took AP Statistics, which, although building upon my calculus foundation, involves many intricate and tangible problems. It is a part of math that I am extremely interested in, as its practices are a part of many careers, from medicine to sports to politics.

Overall the Pomfret Math Department has been extremely influential and rewarding for me during my time here. Its outstanding teachers combined with challenging courses and increasingly efficient technology have prepared me for any math classes I might take in college, and offered me insight as to how math is really used in the world we live in today.

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Mathematics, Student. Bookmark the permalink.