Remember the Great Parts – Senior Chapel Speech

by Jeremy “Remy” Hatfield ’13 –

13_Hatfield_Jeremy“Do not let the end be the end, do not dwell on the fact that it is over, but remember the great parts of when it was.”

Good morning Pomfret, I am Jeremy Hatfield, head prefect, founder of the Early Morning Yoga Club with Ms. A; your mens’ JV puck co-captain, and a four-year senior.

Today I would like to talk to you about . . . leaving Pomfret. This is something we know we always have to face. Nothing lasts forever. Right now is my speech, it will end, someone will follow me, and so on and so forth. Pomfret will enroll students to fill the chairs that we leave empty this spring, although we all have an impact on this school and our fellow students.

My freshman year was spent in Hale with an awesome roommate, Malcolm Chace. Whether we were trying to build bunk beds late one school night using batteries to connect our stilts and scissors as a vice grip to turn bolts, or just chatting late at night, we had our good times. Our friendship has not ended, and hopefully will not end, but living in the same room did.

Sophomore year, I was in Olive with Schuyler Hart and Felix Von Wedemeyer, who departed Pomfret and left us with his younger brother. I got along pretty well with my new roommates, and we made our memories. Felix was always the one to stay up later and talk with me. Technology and space are two things that really grab my attention, and Felix was one who always found something online to blow my mind in the world of technology. One of the things I truly regret is not giving that man a proper goodbye hug. It still sits clearly in my mind. Felix, a few others, and I were out front of Olive after the spring finals. It was a beautiful, sunny June day with the smell of fresh-cut grass and flowers blossoming in the air. We were laughing and talking, while still trying to keep a soccer ball in the air. Then, like a swift breeze, Felix got a call that his ride was ready, and left. I gave him a hug, but I was too immature to realize that it would most likely be the last time I would see my best friend. We still communicate every now and again via Facebook, sharing our lives. But our everyday friendship and conversation came to an end with the most meaningless hug. That’s not a parting memory I look fondly back on.

Junior year I was prefect of Hale, living with eight freshman boys and one of the best roommates, Josh Roemer. There are so many amazing aspects of that ten-person house dorm that I couldn’t fit it all into a chapel speech. This was an ending all of us tried to push a year back. Josh and I had talks with the form deans trying to find a hall or dorm that we could get all of the Hale boys to come with us to. We fought for the Villa and Pyne to become ours. Eddie Staten even wrote a letter to the deans in his own hopes to keep this brotherhood together. We all signed it in an effort to petition not to be separated.

Like most radical ideas, this did not pass. That was the hardest year to let go of. It was the best relationship I had with a roommate, and the entire dorm was a group I did not want to leave. One thing I could always rely on to be in Hale was food. Parents always brought meats and cheeses for our panini press, as well as syrup and waffle mix for our waffle press. On top of our fridge that was packed with OJ and milk, there were also cookies and cake. And the best part about all that was that it was shared. Ian Buckley put it best at the lunch we had for Aiden when he said “I always look around and feel like we are missing someone, but we are not. This is all of us, I LOVE IT!” It was the perfect size dorm to share all this food, to have dorm discussions every night, and to resemble a Boy Band for air bands. So far, that has been one of the hardest endings to endure, to leave Hale.

As I am getting older, only more endings are to come. When I have to say goodbye to those who have impacted me, and made me who I am today, I do not know how I will handle it. Mr. Mott, who has done so much for me, after all the stories we have shared over the two years in the same dorm, and because he is not only a teacher and dorm parent to me, but a friend. I know it will be hard to say goodbye to Mr. Paro, who has seen me grow, watched me struggle through classes and injuries, and even taught me how to play lacrosse. Mr. Rowe, who has shown me he feels my pain when I am injured in just about all my soccer seasons with him. To Mr. Ford, who has shared some of his best life experiences with me in the Hale common room as well as taught me how to write a decent personal essay. To Mrs. Horst, who invites me and many others into her house to get help with math, as well as do the occasional baking. To the Hale boys, especially Aiden, I will miss your crazy energy. And Josh—Josh, you have been the best roommate and friend I could ever ask for, thank you so much for always being there for me. And lastly, to the senior class, to those of you have been through these four years with me as well as those who have come to join us, whether in the classrooms or on the fields.

Of course, a shout-out to my parents who have given me this great opportunity and for loving and supporting me, I know I make it easy for you guys. And Sarah, oh, Sarah, just keep giggling, kid.

So, in attempt to create my own quote: Do not let the end be the end, do not dwell on the fact that it is over, but remember the great parts of when it was.

Thank You Pomfret

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Senior Speeches or Chapel Speeches, Student, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.