Field Hockey winning season a reflection of Pomfret pride

by Lindsay Barber ’13 –

In the fall of 2009, I first stepped onto the old grass field hockey field, prepared for varsity tryouts.  I was a freshman, and overly eager to show the coach, Mrs. Jones, that I was prepared to play on a high school varsity team.  I soon faced a harsh reality when I got cut, but that did not cease my desire to improve.

Three and a half years later, I am now the co-captain of the varsity team here at Pomfret, and could not be any more proud of this team.  After finishing two seasons with a record that did not represent our dedicated and determined team well, it was my co-captain Karoline Lozier’s and my goal to leave our new turf fields this year proud of our success, and of our team as a whole.

From the first day of preseason, I wanted to hit the ground running.  I devoted all my energy to each drill, and encouraged my teammates to do the same. That hard work has paid off since we now hold a 7-2-1 record in our league, WNEPSFHA.  Our team has risen out of the shadows of our previous seasons, now striving for excellence and settling for nothing less.

The Pomfret varsity field hockey team this year exemplifies the true values of a team.  We are bonded by trust, dedication, and a mutual desire to improve.  We look forward to participating in the playoffs next week, and celebrating our winning record.  I have never been so happy to be a part of such a great team.  I am proud to have made an impact on the field hockey program and of being able to share my love of this sport.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Athletics, Leadership, Student, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.