Enjoying Work on the Fall Theatre Production

by Katie Gordon ’15 –

This fall I’ve had the great pleasure of being in the play The Rimers of Eldritch, by Lanford Wilson, which is directed by Chip Lamb. It’s a story about a group of people from the town Eldritch who are faced with a mystery. It deals with gossip, mother and daughter relationships, a promiscuous teenage girl whose brother is dating her best friend, and much more. I’ve had the pleasure of playing Evelyn Jackson, the very bipolar mother of Eva Jackson (played by Summer Staff’15).

When I came to Pomfret last year for my revisit day, I shadowed Anna Shoemaker’13 (who is playing Wilma, one of the gossips, in this show). During my day on campus, she brought me to a Griff Tones session, and I got to see the theatre class. As soon as I got in the car at the end of revisit day, I made it known that if I went to Pomfret next year, I would be involved in the arts department. I especially wanted to participate in as many theatre productions as I could manage. From the first day of rehearsal for the show, our cast came in excited and ready to go. The first few days were spent playing theatre games, doing improv, and reading for parts. As a new student here at Pomfret, the amount of support and help I got from the other students doing the show was so comforting that it made the audition process much easier.

After we were all assigned our parts and given the script, we “jumped right in.” We started at the top of the show and continued to move through in sequence. Mr Lamb let us go at our own pace and use our creativity to bring the characters to life. I really enjoyed being able to bring my own ideas to the show, and Mr. Lamb would listen to us, and actually use what we came up with. As the rehearsals went on, Mr. Lamb would push the limits, and make us do things that we never thought we could do. He showed us how to expand our horizons and become a better actor. As we enter the final rehearsals before opening night, we all have put so much time and effort into this production and we hope the audience enjoys it as much as we have loved performing it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Arts, Student. Bookmark the permalink.