Heart of a Griffin

by Maximilian King ’13, vice president of the School Council –

My name is Maximilian Paul King and I have been at Pomfret School for three years. I am from Amesbury, Massachusetts and I’m the youngest of five children. Last Spring I received the honor of being elected Vice President of our School Council. One of the jobs of the Vice President is to address everyone at the beginning of Chapel each Monday. In my previous two years on the Hilltop, this person has told jokes and recited quotes. However, I wanted to start something different. I wanted to recognize people within our community (faculty, students etc.) who are doing the right thing while at Pomfret. I decided to call this initiative The Heart of a Griffin.

I got the idea for The Heart of a Griffin from my Junior Boarding School, Cardigan Mountain. At Cardigan, it was called The Heart of a Cougar and it was based off of the School’s core values. It was an honor to receive this ribbon at Chapel, so I wanted to start this same type of tradition at Pomfret. The Heart of a Griffin is based off of our core values: People, Purpose, Passion, and Pride. People refers to Respect, Integrity, Compassion, Honesty, and Fairness. Purpose stands for Leadership, Positive Risk Taking, and Teamwork. Passion is for academic and athletic competitions and Pride is for studies, sports, extra curricular activities, and support around campus.

My goal is to have all the people in our community doing the right thing. This can range from picking up a piece of trash on the Quad to cheering on a classmate at a sporting event. When someone has been elected for The Heart of a Griffin, I will read their name in Monday Chapel, say what they have done to improve the community, and give them the ribbon.

Pomfret School Core Values
People: Respect, Integrity, Compassion, Honesty, Fairness
Purpose: Leadership, Positive Risk Taking, Teamwork
Passion: Wether it is in the classroom or on the athletic field; Scholarship
Pride: In their studies, sports, extra curricular activities, and supporting teams around campus

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Senior Speeches or Chapel Speeches, Student. Bookmark the permalink.