Community Service Garden Experience Not Just a Summer Job

by Genevieve LaBeef ’15 –

This past summer, I had the opportunity to work. This wasn’t just any old job; in fact it was only a few steps away from my own home. That’s right. I spent a majority of my time in Pomfret School’s Community Service garden. Mrs. Yokum and I worked diligently, trying to get the wonderful plants to spurt out of the ground or blossom from their buds. What I’ve learned from this experience is that gardening isn’t all about the pretty flowers that everyone admires or the juicy tomatoes that burst in your mouth. The weather would drown, scorch, and shade our poor plant life while they fought their way to live. This summer taught me to be patient because the plants took time to grow, just like a person would. It took many hours of weeding and watering to nourish the roots of the precious little lives that live within the small seeds.

Although we put a lot of effort into the garden, I don’t like calling it ‘work’ because I had the best times in there. It was so relaxing being under the warm sun with a slight breeze, listening to Mrs. Yokum’s intriguing life stories and lessons. Often, if I went in there on my own time, I’d bring my I-pod and listen to music. I found myself getting lost in the tunes and flowers and before I knew it I’d realize that I’d been there for three hours.

I believe everyone should do their own community service because, not only do you help others, it relaxes your mind. And you never know whom you might meet and what you might learn about someone else in the process.

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Campus Life, Student, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.