Pomfret’s Radio Station Offers Distinctive Options for Students

by Nick Fulchino ’15 –

photo by Georgia Morrison ’14

When I came for orientation at Pomfret I remember talking to Dr. Gillin about the different opportunities that this school had to offer. She mentioned Chris Golden, Pomfret Class of 2007, who had a political talk show when he was a student, which featured a variety of candidates and political figures. It was just one of the many options that Pomfret offered and when the station’s manager, Seth Fargnoli, sent out an email asking for aspiring show hosts, I responded. The result was Fulchino’s Filibuster and my nickname around campus for my entire freshman year became “Filibuster.”

I’m not an athletic kid, but the radio station gives me a chance to broadcast what I do care about to all of Northeastern Connecticut. While Pomfret isn’t the only school with a radio station, their radio station is considerably more impressive than radio stations I saw at other schools. It’s positioned in the middle of the Student Union, affording students the opportunity to watch the show live while listening to it at the same time. The radio station, WBVC, also provides a filled lineup including talk shows, rock shows, and political shows. There’s no doubt that WBVC has become a hallmark of my Pomfret career, and it’s only my second year on the Hilltop.

My show discusses politics at all levels: local, state, and national. On my show I’ve had the First Selectman of Pomfret and I’ve had Congressman Chris Murphy, who is involved in a race for Senate. Though most episodes don’t have a guest, I really enjoy it when I do have a guest. I’ll never forget my final episode last year when I had Senate Candidate Brian K. Hill as a guest. He and I went back and forth over the issue of education and it was a highlight of the show’s first season. Now I’m prepared to move us into Season 2 with a focus on the Presidential Election and a variety of other issues at stake.

Every Monday when I go to the station and sit down behind the microphone, I still get a certain rush of adrenaline as I bring up the mic level and say, “If it’s Monday, It’s Fulchino’s Filibuster” (a spin on Tim Russert’s favorite line). Just last week I was on with Hayden Clarkin, someone who joins me in the studio nearly every Monday, and our debate got to the point where I had stood-up and flailed my arms in the air! Some would call this over-dramatic, but I enjoy every minute I spend in the station and I hope my listeners enjoy every minute they spend with me on Monday Nights.

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in All School News, Campus Life, Student and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.