A Note of Gratitude to the Pomfret School Community

by Juan Carlos “Choto” Chotocruz Abarca ’12 –

I just want to take this opportunity to express my gratitude for everything this community has done for me. You are all truly remarkable people, and I will forever be in your debt. I love you all, whether you knew me or not. I can say “I love you” because you have made my experience at Pomfret unforgettable and beautiful. Strive for the best, aim for the best, demand nothing less than the best from yourselves and never ever settle for anything less. You all deserve the best and have made my life amazing.

To the freshmen class – the best advice I can give you is just live this experience to the extreme. Step out of your comfort zone, take risks, and work as hard as you can. I assure you that this community will reward you for your efforts.

To the sophomore class – enjoy the moment. I know that you may want to get to be an upperclassmen sooner rather than later, but all will come in due time. For now, make sure you make the most out of every day. Life will move on without you if you don’t stop to appreciate the beauty in the world once in a while.

To the junior class – prepare yourselves for a wild ride next year. You will be the leaders of the community and you must lead by example. Smile, stop and say hello to people, and be genuine and welcoming. It is the things that may seem the most meaningless and small, like asking someone about their day, that can make a difference in a person’s life. And make sure you get to know as many people in your class as you can. It is never too late to make new friends.

To the seniors – you guys have changed my life for the better. It has been an honor to share this year and three months with you guys and I will love you all forever. Keep in touch. And know that despite the fact that we are moving on, that doesn’t mean that we can’t be there for each other. I love you guys, every single one of you. Thank you so much for making this year the best year of my life so far.

To the faculty – you are the backbone of this community. Without people like you, Pomfret wouldn’t be what it is. And while everything I’ve learned in class has helped me get into college and become more disciplined, it is the lessons that I have learned from talking to you and sharing time with you that have shaped me as a person. I look up to all of you. Thank you for making Pomfret so great.

And finally – to all of you – I love you all. If you’ve gotten to know me really well, have only said hi to me once or twice, or have no idea who I am, you have made a positive change in my life.

Thank you Pomfret! I will miss you!

Choto

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in All School News, Student and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.