Supportive Leadership

by Aubrey Smith ’12 –

As school council president on the Hilltop I have been privileged to sit alongside faculty to help construct a productive community. The business aspect of my responsibility has been fun, but the most meaningful moments occur outside of the classroom and meeting periods. By this I mean the personal interactions with my fellow students.

I felt vulnerable after writing a very open chapel speech. I, at first, feared my story would be criticized. However, this was not the case. In fact, it was just the opposite. The feedback was positive and my support within this community felt elevated. It even made me much more approachable as a student leader. Since my speech, I have been able to talk to other students about their comfort, depression, growth outside of the classroom, etc. at Pomfret School. Knowing that there are a handful of students who sought help at an early age and that I got to give them that hand, this brightens my day. I hope that my successors continue to look past the work and focus on the bigger picture – keeping Pomfret together as a supportive community.

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Campus Life, Student. Bookmark the permalink.