Why Winning Isn’t Everything

by Kevin Hutchinson ’12 –

Although our winless record might indicate a disappointing and unsuccessful season, the Pomfret School 2011 Varsity Football Team achieved many accomplishments. Before the season began, my fellow teammates and I had high aspirations for the upcoming season. A new school year also brought new teammates, a new league, and a new coach. With the assurances of our coaches, we were told that a league championship was within our reach. However, after losing our first game by over 40 points these dreams seemed distant. Although discouraged, we picked each other up and looked ahead to the next opponent. Unfortunately, with each new week also came another defeat. As the losses started to mound, my confidence dipped. Teammates and coaches were devastated and needed a spark. During a meeting with Coach Large, he talked to seniors about leaving a mark on this team for the future. He told us that there was a difference between “what we had to do and what we needed to do.” This talk sparked a change inside of me.

During our last game against Westminster, I refused to settle for average but strived for greatness. Instead of working for small achievements, I challenged myself to give more. Instead of running for 5 yards, I ran for 30. Instead of a first down, I gave us a touchdown. On that day, I had my best individual effort and sparked our best team effort. Although we didn’t win this game, or any other this season, we grew in heart and determination. The seniors set the groundwork for success for future teams. I couldn’t have been more proud and lucky to be the captain of those 30 men, men whom I call my brothers for life.

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Athletics, Leadership, Student. Bookmark the permalink.