Capturing the Spirit of Pomfret

by Cole Spivak ’12 –

Recently, I chose to focus my Advanced Film course project on capturing Pomfret’s school spirit through the words of students and faculty. This film will use interviews, photographs, and films to educate myself, and the Pomfret community, about the growth of the school through academics, athletics, and arts. We see school spirit on the fields and courts as well as in the classrooms, on the stage, and all throughout campus life. By involving members of the community in this film, I hope to observe and understand their personal experiences while providing them with a medium for expressing how it has affected their lives over time.

This project is very important to me for two key reasons. First, I have been here, on the Hilltop, for four years attending sporting events, concerts, and plays, and I want to find a way to give back to the community so they could relive those experiences over and over again. Another is that documentaries have played a large roll in my family since I was a little boy. My grandfather, one could say, is a documentary enthusiast. I would really enjoy sharing my own work about something I love with the people I love.

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Arts, Student. Bookmark the permalink.