Artistic Passion Fulfilled at Pomfret

by Emma Perlwitz ’12 –

From the moment I stepped onto the Pomfret School campus, I knew that the arts would be a big and beautiful part of my high school career. After years of community theatre and chorus in middle school, I came to Pomfret ready to be challenged by and immersed in the performing arts. Right off the bat, I was fulfilled; I did theatre my very first term at Pomfret, landing a role in an experimental and surreal piece called Approaching Zanzibar – quite different from the childish roles I had been previously given. I have continued doing theatre throughout my four years at Pomfret, performing classic vaudeville musicals, satires, operas, Shakespeare, farce, and am now in my senior year performing the role of Maria in the genius West Side Story, my biggest challenge yet.


Pomfret School inspired and prepared me for a life in the performing arts. I came here with a few musicals under my belt, and will leave here ready and zealous to pursue a career in opera. My teachers have pushed and pushed me, further than I ever thought I was capable of going, as an artist and a person. The countless hours of rehearsals, the intensity of practice, the persistent yet warm critiques from my teachers, the focus and support of my peers, and the demand to create truly worthwhile art here on the hilltop are what have prepared me for the life of a performer, a life that I am more than ready to step into after attending Pomfret.

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Arts, Student. Bookmark the permalink.