Student Leadership

by Dejda Collins ’12 –

As Pomfret’s vice president of the student body, I earned the pleasure to speak before every senior chapel. Every Monday morning, for about five minutes, I have the whole Pomfret community’s attention to say whatever I want. In previous years, the vice president has always said jokes or, at least, attempted to. However, I decided to do something a little different this year. I am in love with quotes, and I decided to bring my love for quotes to my position. Each Monday morning I share a quote; some are funny, and some are sad, some are witty and some are inspiring and uplifting. They all reach a different audience and impact people in different ways.

Though many people have said that they loved the quote I shared, or have come up to me asking if I could send them the quote, I am not quite sure how much it impacts them. But the fact of the matter is, I say these quotes with the hope that each and every individual will walk out of chapel with a little something to think about for the rest of their day. Some may apply my quotes to their every day life, reminding themselves that they alone are enough and have nothing to prove to anybody. Some may even be touched by a quote and decide right then and there to do things in their life a little differently. The point is that each individual interprets my quotes differently. When I first ran for president, I stated that my goal for Pomfret is to make “each day be a little better than the last,” and if my quotes help in that effort, then I am doing my job.

These are a few of my favorites quotes:

“You alone are enough. You have nothing to prove to anybody” -Maya Angelou

“Be nice to everyone, we are all fighting a battle you know nothing about” -Anonymous

“Never lie, steal, cheat, or drink. But if you must lie, lie in the arms of the one you love. If you must steal, steal away from bad company. If you must cheat, cheat death. And if you must drink, drink in the moments that take your breath away” -Hitch

“Each morning we are born again. What we do today is what matters most” -Buddah

About Pomfret School

Founded in 1894, Pomfret is an independent co-educational college preparatory boarding and day school for 350 students in grades 9 through 12 and postgraduate, located on a scenic 500 acre campus in Northeastern Connecticut.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Leadership, Student. Bookmark the permalink.